Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Palestinians, Arabs and those from the wider international community.

This document is the Christian Palestinians’ word to the world about what is happening in Palestine. It is written at this time when we wanted to see the Glory of the grace of God in this land and in the sufferings of its people. In this spirit the document requests the international community to stand by the Palestinian people who have faced oppression, displacement, suffering and clear apartheid for more than six decades. The suffering continues while the international community silently looks on at the occupying State, Israel. Our word is a cry of hope, with love, prayer and faith in God. We address it first of all to ourselves and then to all the churches and Christians in the world, asking them to stand against injustice and apartheid, urging them to work for a just peace in our region, calling on them to revisit theologies that justify crimes perpetrated against our people and the dispossession of the land.
In this historic document, we Palestinian Christians declare that the military occupation of our land is a sin against God and humanity, and that any theology that legitimizes the occupation is far from Christian teachings because true Christian theology is a theology of love and solidarity with the oppressed, a call to justice and equality among peoples.
This document did not come about spontaneously, and it is not the result of a coincidence. It is not a theoretical theological study or a policy paper, but is rather a document of faith and work. Its importance stems from the sincere expression of the concerns of the people and their view of this moment in history we are living through. It seeks to be prophetic in addressing things as they are without equivocation and with boldness, in addition it puts forward ending the Israeli occupation of Palestinian land and all forms of discrimination as the solution that will lead to a just and lasting peace. The document also demands that all peoples, political leaders and decision-makers put pressure on Israel and take legal measures in order to oblige its government to put an end to its oppression and disregard for the international law. The document also holds a clear position that non-violent resistance to this injustice is a right and duty for all Palestinians including Christians.
The initiators of this document have been working on it for more than a year, in prayer and discussion, guided by their faith in God and their love for their people, accepting advice from many friends: Palestinians, Arabs and those from the wider international community. We are grateful to our friends for their solidarity with us.
As Palestinian Christians we hope that this document will provide the turning point to focus the efforts of all peace-loving peoples in the world, especially our Christian sisters and brothers. We hope also that it will be welcomed positively and will receive strong support, as was the South Africa Kairos document launched in 1985, which, at that time proved to be a tool in the struggle against oppression and occupation. We believe that liberation from occupation is in the interest of all peoples in the region because the problem is not just a political one, but one in which human beings are destroyed.
We pray God to inspire us all, particularly our leaders and policy-makers, to find the way of justice and equality, and to realize that it is the only way that leads to the genuine peace we are seeking.
His Beatitude Patriarch Michel Sabbah
His Grace Bishop Dr. Munib Younan
His Eminence Archbishop Atallah Hanna
Rev. Dr. Jamal Khader
Rev. Dr. Rafiq Khoury
Rev. Dr. Mitri Raheb
Rev. Dr. Naim Ateek
Rev. Dr. Yohana Katanacho
Rev. Fadi Diab
Dr. Jiries Khoury
Ms. Cedar Duaybis
Ms. Nora Kort
Ms. Lucy Thaljieh
Mr. Nidal Abu El Zuluf
Mr. Yusef Daher
Mr. Rifat Kassis - Coordinator
The ‘Moment of Truth’ document can be downloaded in several languages as PDF files.
Organizations adopting the document up until 11 December 2009:
Near East Council of Churches – Gaza
Laity Committee in the Holy Land
Council for Orthodox Organizations
International Centre of Bethlehem
Department of Service to Palestine Refugees
Siraj Center
International Christian Assembly
Arab Orthodox Charitable Society
Arab Orthodox Club Union-Jerusalem
Arab Orthodox Club-Beit Sahour
Arab Orthodox Club-Bethlehem
Arab Orthodox Club-Beit Jala
Orthodox Housing Society
Alternative Tourism Group
National Christian Assembly
WI'AM –The Palestinian Conflict Resolution Center
National Christian Alliance
St. Yves
1- Dr. Bernard Sabella 50- Mr. Nader Muaddi
2- Dr. Elias Esaid
51- Mr. Nael Dahmas
3- Dr. Irene Hazou Mikhwel
52- Mr. Ousama Daher
4- Dr. Jad Isaac
53- Mr. Raed Abed Rabbo
5- Dr. Majed Nassar
54- Mr. Raed Saadeh
6- Dr. Muna Mushahwar
55- Mr. Rami Kassis
7- Dr. Nasri Qumsieh
56- Mr. Rami Qreetm
8- Dr. Sulaiman Rabadi
57- Mr. Rami Zeidan
9- Dr. Zougby Zougby
58- Mr. Ramzi Zananiri
10- Advocate Khalil Dugbach
59- Mr. Richard Elias
11- Advocate Nabil Mushahwar
60- Mr. Richard Zananiri
12- Advocate Raffoul Rofa
61- Mr. Saba Abu Eita
13- Mr Fadi Isaac
62- Mr. Salim Jaber
14- Mr Qustandi Dabagh
63- Mr. Sami Abu Daieh
15- Mr. Abed-Almasih Younan
64- Mr. Sami Alyussef
16- Mr. Adham Rishmawi
65- Mr. Sami Khoury
17- Mr. Anton Abu Akleh
66- Mr. Simon Awad
18- Mr. Azzam Musleh
67- Mr. Simon Kuba
19- Mr. Bassam Turjum
68- Mr. Subhi Mikhwel
20- Mr. Bassem Anchouat
69- Mr. Suleiman Abu Daieh
21- Mr. Butros Abu Shanab
70- Mr. Thafer Kassis
22- Mr. Daoud Rafat
71- Mr. Tony Hazboun
23- Mr. Dimitri Diliani
72- Mr. Wadi Abu Nassar
24- Mr. Elias Kheir
73- Mr. Waseem Khazmo
25- Mr. Elias Tams
74- Mr. Wassef Daher
26- Mr. Francis Tams
75- Mr. William Nazi
27- Mr. Gassan Daoud
76- Mr. Wisam Tum
28- Mr. George Abu Zuluf
77- Mr. Yacob Dahdal
29- Mr. George Akroush
78- Mr. Yacob Kassis
30- Mr. George Rishmawi
79- Mr. Yacob Moussa
31- Mr. George Sahar
80- Ms. Alida Zumout
32- Mr. George Tams
81- Ms. Anwar Banoura
33- Mr. Giries Misleh
82- Ms. Claudette Habash
34- Mr. Hani Odeh
83- Ms. Dina Zreneh
35- Mr. Hanna Khoury
84- Ms. Fadia Musleh
36- Mr. Ibrahim Matar
85- Ms. Hania Qassasieh – Persekian
37- Mr. Issa Safari
86- Ms. Jumana Tams
38- Mr. Jalal Qumsieh
87- Ms. Mayada Tarazi
39- Mr. Jamil Ghraib
88- Ms. Mira Rizk
40- Mr. Jawad Misleh
89- Ms. Nadia Esaid
41- Mr. Joseph Hazboun
90- Ms. Nora Karmi
42- Mr. Khader Kokaly
91- Ms. Pauline Nunu Saadeh
43- Mr. Marwan Toubasi
92- Ms. Randa Makhlouf
44- Mr. Michel Bahnam
93- Ms. Randa Siniora
45- Mr. Michel Qreetm
94- Ms. Rula Daher
46- Mr. Musa Jarjou'i
95- Ms. Scarlet Habib
47- Mr. Nabil Almufdi
96- Ms. Sherine Abu Akleh
48- Mr. Nader Abu Amsha
97- Ms. Sirine Dahmas
49- Mr. Nader Hrimat
98- Ms. Walae Qumsieh
To become a signatory, please send the following information to Mr. Rifat Kassis:

No comments: